UNSW Built Environment Research: Laura Goh

16 06 2010

Hi Everyone,

Well it’s already the end of Semester 1 and so much as happened since my last post in November 2009! The biggest news – I AM BACK AT UNSW! No, no don’t panic – I didn’t fail my undergraduate thesis…actually I have just started my PhD!

The first questions most people ask me when they hear that I am in my sixth straight year of uni is ‘Are you mad?’ Well, actually – yes I am (obviously). So why did I decide to do the PhD? Well, whilst writing my undergraduate thesis I felt that I didn’t have enough time to explore all the aspects that I wanted to on my topic area. My supervisors encouraged me to think about turning my undergraduate work into something bigger, as well as apply for a post-graduate research scholarship. For anyone thinking about postgraduate research degrees check out the UNSW Graduate Research School Website or UNSW BE Future Students page .

I have been offered an Australian Postgraduate Award Scholarship for three years, which will help to cover my living expenses whilst I am doing my PhD. I don’t think it would have been possible for me to do the PhD without the scholarship – so I am very thankful for the support. I have a desk in the lovely new PhD Lab in the Red Centre. We have a fabulous view of the University Walk and the Village Green, as well as our own little kitchen for heating up our lunches and making millions of cups of tea (note: this blogger is a tea-addict).

At the moment I am at uni four days a week and still working as a planner one day a week. I have started doing some lecturing and tutoring work for a couple of the undergraduate planning subjects, which is a lot of fun! I was even luck enough to go up to Kurri Kurri with the Third Year students on their strategic planning field trip!

Lots more soon – I think it’s time for a cup of tea!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

