UNSW Built Environment Planning: Christina Livers

26 05 2010

The fourth year planners are almost there…work experience is coming to a close, only a few more weeks to go!

The year has encompassed many different elements (learning to manage the workload, liaising with clients, going on site visits, attending meetings and preparing reports to name but a few) of which when pieced together create a truly valuable experience. To have been given the opportunity to be part of the planning profession before having graduated is an opportunity that we are all very fortunate to have had. I have gained a greater understanding of how all of the theory which I have learned at uni over the past few years is applied in practice. I have had the opportunity to develop my skills and learn from many experienced professionals- some of whom are past graduates of the BPlan. As well as this, those who have mentored me while on work experience have been instrumental in my progress throughout the year. I have experienced first hand the importance of professional development from those who have mentored me, as it is under their guidance that I have been able to reflect and enhance my skills.

Even though work experience is coming to a close, the journey continues as planning is forever changing and the management of this change is fundamental to reaching good planning outcomes for the community at large. I will absolutely take all of the skills which I have learned over the course of work experience with me as I go back to university to complete the BPlan. It is with positivity and enthusiasm that I will approach the final semesters of uni, as work experience has given me a taste of the profession- I am now even more so keen to graduate. I look forward to contributing everything which I have learned as a graduate and perhaps join those who have mentored me as a professional.

Actions

Information

One response

1 06 2010
Stuart Withington

It was a pleasure to have Christina work with us. Her assistance to the Regional Projects branch was appreciated by all. We have been fortunate to have had a number of great students pass through the branch in the last couple of years.

Leave a Reply

