UNSW Built Environment Landscape Architecture: Ali Gates

6 04 2010

Hey Everyone! It’s Ali here again.

Well I’ve just had my first few weeks of my final year of Landscape Architecture. I think it’s going to be pretty hectic. For our design Studio this semester our site is in Canberra. This means a 4-day field trip down to our nation’s Capital to get acquainted with our site which should be fun. We’re going to be looking at a large area to the east of Canberra for development. This area includes Canberra Airport and Defense lands so it will be interesting to see how we can incorporate these land uses into our designs. Just to make it more difficult the whole semester’s work is in groups. If group work goes well it can be amazing- but it can also go very badly. We got to pick our groups ourselves so I think our group will work well together. We’ll have to wait and see.

I’ve also decided to write a thesis this year instead of doing more electives. I’m going to be researching urban agriculture – i.e. growing food in our urban environments, closer to where we live. I had my first meeting with my thesis supervisor yesterday and let’s just say I have a lot of work ahead of me!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

