UNSW Built Environment Bachelor of Planning: Christina Livers

12 11 2009

Six months ago I was submitting an assignment about the Metropolitan Strategy, fast forward six months and I find myself in a boardroom where the Metropolitan Strategy is being discussed by a group of Planning professionals- welcome to the work experience program!

The last time I wrote my blog, I was about to embark on my work experience program at the Department of Planning. I can now confidently say that I am four months in. If I had to sum it up in a few words overall, I would say that it has been a massive learning experience. My prior two years of study at Uni have given me a really good grounding in Planning. The work experience program has given me the opportunity to apply this knowledge in the work place, whilst acquiring new skills as well. In addition, one of the aspects from the past two years of Uni which has been beneficial in the work place is the array of skills which I have acquired while undertaking group work.

It is that time of year again, for most Uni is ending for the year and summer is just around the corner. However, for those of us in third year who are on work experience life has been very different for the past four months. We have had many opportunities to witness different aspects of planning in practice, inclusive of meetings with different stakeholders, site visits, report writing, research, attending seminars and training days.

I have had many great opportunities while on work experience, ranging from the great projects that I have had the chance to work on, the Young Planners group which I have been involved in and participating in organised sport teams. I have also had the fortune of meeting many fantastic people within the industry, including some past graduates of the BPlan!

Lastly, I have enjoyed every minute of working as a Student Ambassador. Throughout the year I have had the opportunity of meeting many prospective BPlan students at the UNSW Open Days, I hope to see you around next year!

Actions

Information

One response

24 11 2009
soillsele

Great, I did not heard about this topic up to now. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

