UNSW Built Environment Architectural Studies: Minu Lee

7 04 2009

Initially, I was introduced to the UNSW Built Environment through my high school advisor, who recommended I apply because the Faculty produces many graduates with high pedigrees in their respective fields.  Knowing that this would not be possible without a team of dedicated staff and academics, I had no doubt that UNSW would provide me the necessary skills and knowledge to maximise my potential.  The decision I made back then now grants me the fortune or pursuing the honours program in the Bachelor of Architectural Studies program this year.  I am collaborating with researchers from the City Futures Research Centre in our faculty.  As such, my first three years at UNSW have been full of enjoyment and success.

I wanted to study architecture from as far back as I can remember.  If I began my university life by assuming that it’s all about making neat models and drawings, I can now be quietly confident in saying that it is much more that that; to make positive contributions to society through pursuing persistent curiosity of our surrounding environment.

I am currently undertaking the honours year in the BArch program.  The paper I am writing involves extensive research into my chosen field of interest, which will hopefully become an intellectual contribution to the architecture profession.

Currently the aim I have in mind for the semester is to explore how our understanding of a city might be configured, one which would serve as a backdrop to understanding the nature of constructed environments, and in turn, provide possible guidelines for existing centres as well as towns under urban renewal.  In search of an architectural response to shifting contemporary urban environments, my research investigates the place and effect current built forms have in their cities.  If we are to contemplate the qualities of people’s experiences in architecture, then surely our attention needs to address the human attributes such as touch, taste, sound and smell.  The importance is supported on the basis that happiness comes from feeling a wide range of natural conditions.  With this in mind, the paper describes how our senses relate to and experience a city.  The resulting proposal may take the form of a specified design strategy or a certain theoretical understanding regarding integration of the built form with is urban environment through greater human interaction, which may be tested in the future.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

